embracing ‘goo’

New beginnings are both frightening and exciting.  The feeling is generally the same:  flippy stomach, shortened breathing, elevated heart rate — all part of the body’s show when we are either.

Writing stimulates this exciting and scary reaction from me – AND I have found that I do like writing – WHEN I AM FINISHED!   Is this not true of many things we take on?  We frequently appreciate how wonderful experiences are only when they are completed.  Sitting in the ‘goo’ of waiting to see whether we have success or failure is where the challenge comes in.  Can we sit with the creative juices in the mess long enough to let the process work??

Whether knitting socks, cooking stew, working on ourselves in counseling, or writing a blog – it takes time – and permitting.  Permitting is allowing the action to take place in it’s own time.  You cannot will a potato to cook faster than it can cook.  Permitting requires patience.  Patience is a virtue not in much surplus these days in our culture – and yet we tout it as something to aspire to.

On this early January day, I pledge myself to accept sitting in the ‘goo’ (elevated heartbeat, flippy stomach) while I learn a new way to share that which is important to me – and hopefully of interest and encouragement to you.

Blessings                                                                                   ~cherylann

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

