Easily Replaced

The crocuses croaked.  When I went to my office this week, I anticipated that they would have “gone-by” as my mother-in-law calls it.  And “gone-by” they were.   The flowers wilted and brown, the green leaves white and drooping on the side of the pot – exhausted, spent, weary, ready to be done with living in my office.

I threw them away.

Thinking on it now, I feel guilty.  I feel guilty for a number of things that I had not anticipated.  I did not thank them for the color and life they brought to  my office.  I did not keep the bulbs which surely could have been used again next winter.  I tossed the pot and the plastic covering into the garbage which will eventually go to the landfill.  I did not honor them nor the gift of the life force they gave me by even trying to save what could have been re-used. I turned what might have been a sacred moment into a quick disposal and an efficient cleanup.

Our throw-away culture and MY throw-away attitude is not even in my conscious awareness.  This ‘thing amnesia’ is partly due to the glut of things I already have, and partly due to the readily available ‘new’ stuff easily within driving distance.  Subsequently, the things I do have are very much reduced in value.  They are easily thrown or given away (which is surely better than just tossed).  They are easily replaced.

or are they?

Blessings!                                                                                  ~cherylann

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

