Going Missing

“I missed you!”  “I missed getting tickets to the event.”  “Thank god, I missed the pothole.”

Can something  ‘go missing’ if it is not missed?  To ‘go missing’ means (to me) that there is a place where something was – something I counted on being there and is no longer there, thus leaving the hole for the something I am missing.   It seems to imply that this missing can be both a good and a bad thing – with a  ‘taking for granted-ness’ or a relief about it.  ‘Going missing’ can be complicated.

I do not think about the local Electric Company except when I pay the bill.  I don’t think about them when I turn on my coffeepot each morning – at least I didn’t, until the snowstorm last November when our power was out for 72 hours- and the electricity ‘went missing’.

I cursed the potholes on 15th Avenue every time my car’s wheels threatened to disappear in their depths.  They were apparently filled last week.  I didn’t realize I’d missed them til this writing.

What about missing someone?  If I had just finished talking a little sooner, I wouldn’t have missed the traffic control person ticketing my car for an expired meter.  And what about the co-worker who moved to Nebraska?  Each time I walk by her office, I miss her gentle presence.

I’ve been missing.  I’d made a commitment to write on this blog each week, and I’ve missed making good on that promise.  As I turn this around, did I feel sad that I did not get it done?  And was that because I enjoy doing it or was it a failure to not do it?  And who did I promise this to?  Actually, myself- and wisely put no time-line on it.  I must have thought I’d ‘go missing’ at some point – at least for a while.

It appears that ‘going missing’ encompasses a disappointment of some sort – a pleasant surprise (no pothole) or a frustration (no coffee).  Possibly either good or bad, but not meeting some expectation.

What or who are you missing?  Who is missing you?

Blessings!                                                                                ~cherylann

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

