What’s shakin’?

It’s time to get back to basics – for me.  I am getting close to having the majority of my new home construction under control.  I can see the bed in the the second bedroom.

As I take stock of the pattern of my life these days – I see little pattern.  I have been ‘living in the moment’, living from ‘moment to moment’, and from a perspective of anticipating change in the next moment.  There is no negative judgment of this patternless pattern, but my little list-writing self feels that I have been at-sea long enough.

The term “shake-down” most recently entered my vocabulary as a descriptive for making sure nothing is loose in the airplane, one of my husband’s tasks at work.  As creatures of habit – where habit and predictability are soothing – frequently it is good to experience a ‘shake-down’. Why good?  Because loose stuff falls off and into places where it can be seen, evaluated, tossed, or reattached.  Most of the stuff that appears on a shake-down is expected, but once in a while something surprising or necessary shows up and must be reconsidered.

We’ve been doing a great deal of shaking in the past 3 and one-half months.  Many things that have appeared by design or surprise are now gone, replaced, repaired or reattached.  Life is ready for a more predictable pattern again.  I’m ready to begin the process of uncovering that new pattern which is likely to emulate the shake-down in that while some things are different, they are also likely to be very much the same.  In therapy, the term is homeostasis – the propensity of a thing, once disturbed, to return to it’s original configuration.  While homeostasis can’t happen exactly any more after our big move to Washington, I’m ready to see the new pattern our shake-down has produced.

Blessings!

~cherylann

 

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in spirituality, The Washington Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

