The Woman in Black: Session #1

The young woman walking along the road was wearing black from head to toe:  sun glasses, black boots and hat.  She was accompanied by a large black dog.  I wondered why so much black?

It took only seconds for me to see her and perceive that she was more than a moving shadow – but it took much longer for me to process in my mind what I had seen.  As I continued driving down the road, I tried see more as I turned around to view her from over my shoulder.

She made an impression in her short moment in my life.  She took up residence in my head, and her specter caused me to spend a great deal more time contemplating her than the brief moments she was actively within my view.

“Hmmmmm,” said Dr. Jung.  “Go on.”

Again, I wondered why so much black?  Could it be that she likes black?  That she had only black clothes to wear that day?  Did she feel the black would give her more power or protection? Was she making a statement of inclusion or exclusion?  Was the black supposed to absorb the precious sun for heat?  Was she mourning someone or something? Was she a Goth person?  Did she intentionally dress in black because she knew I would be driving down the street, would see her and that she would cause me to contemplate the meaning of her black dog and black garb?  Did she know something?  Was she a messenger?  Was she an omen?

Should I not rent the new office space nearby?  Should I disregard the advice of my doctor because she obviously is the harbinger of the end?  Is something terrible about to happen to me?

Wait. What?

“I’m afraid you are out of words for today,” said Dr. Jung.  “We will talk more about this next time.”

Ratz.

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in Conversations with Carl and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

