The Woman in Black: Session #2

I’ve been thinking about black and it’s various functions.

My friend Jill wears black all the time – well, mostly all the time.  An denim item appears occasionally  – jeans or a jacket – but always with black.  She says that black reduced her sense of size when she was heavy.  Now that she’s a tiny person (yoga and eating well), she continues to wear black because she doesn’t have to worry about whether things match.  They always match – even when she gets dressed in the dark.

Black as an illusion of smallness, and black for simplicity and convenience

“Interesting,” said Dr. Jung.  “Go on.”

The nuns and priests of my childhood in the Catholic Church – they wore black as a symbol of their commitment and role – black conveyed their power.  It would have been hard to take Sr. Mary Margaret seriously had her Dominican habit been white and hot pink rather than white and black.

Power and seriousness are associated with black.

“Yes,” said Dr. Jung.  “Continue.”

And of course, black is the color of mourning.  I think of Jackie Kennedy in her black garb for the JFK’s funeral (I was 10), of families dressed in black at the funerals that we sang at the church.  I wore black to my father’s funeral.  Any other color didn’t seem to be appropriate.  So black is solemn.  But – I wore a black gown to my son’s wedding – and that was a festive occasion.  I remember being concerned that black might be misread as my disapproval of his marriage – which is wasn’t.  Truthfully, the dress looked great – and black was the color for evening dresses at the time.

So black can be joyous as well as solemn.

But what about black cats?  They sometime symbolize bad luck or warnings but. . .

“I’m afraid we are out of words for today,” said Dr. Jung.  “We will pick it up again next time.”

Ratz.

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in Conversations with Carl and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

