The Woman in Black: Session #3

As I was saying, black cats, black magic, black holes, black-outs – all refer to things that we cannot see.  Perhaps that is why I considered assigning the woman in black the role of an omen.

Black describes the absence of light – which is rather ironic when one considers that the totality of color creates black – and that white is the absence of color.  All color is absorbed in black and reflected in white.  Which means, of course, that the beautiful colors of the sunset, the sea, the flowers and trees are included in black.

So I suppose black, in itself, could be considered a hopeful color – the possibility of all colors exists within the container of ‘black’.  And as such, black is richer and deeper than white.

“Umhmmm,” said Dr. Jung.  “You’ve been thinking about this.”

When the woman in black caught my attention, she triggered my questions  – unknowing, of course, that she did so.  Her reasons and purpose for wearing black are truly known to her alone.  She probably never even registered the red car passing by, much less the woman driver who strained to see her more clearly.

The questions and assignment of meaning raised by her black apparel are mine alone – reflections perhaps of the thoughts and feelings contained in my own conscious, unconscious, and sub-conscious.  Interesting that they were reflections of,  if I stay with my color metaphor, ‘white’ thoughts – about questions concerning things I had no answer for, or ‘black’ questions if we stay with the absence of light image, or questions for which the answers are either not known consciously and are possibly contained in my own self and about which I am unaware.

This experience is a tripping point for me – causing awareness in a new way.  What I think and feel about another is likely a reflection of me  – it’s all about me.  Does that make me a narcissist?

“We are out of words for today,” said Dr. Jung.  “We will speak of Narcissus next time.”

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in Conversations with Carl and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

