Addressing Me

During this time of changing residences, people won’t know where to find me physically, but they will know how to find me virtually.  There are many and various methods for that – mobile phone, text, voice-mail, e-mail, internet fax, website, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn.  Even across the vast expanses of Montana and North Dakota, surely one of these connections will work – as long as it’s virtual and not physical.   Snail-mail, with it’s physical systemic limitations, remains a problem.  Allow me to illustrate:

Two weeks ago, I began generating the extensive list of business places and people who will need to know where I am going to be.  I decided a PO Box in Madison would be a swift method for managing this enormous task because I could not use the new apartment address until July.  I logged on to the USPS website, located my preferred location in Madison, paid my $37.50 by credit card, and received an application attachment to fill out and mail.  And I paused . .  and waited . . .a moment longer . . . for my new PO Box number . . . to appear . . . so I could use it . . .

Hmmm.

I called the Post Office in Madison – and the manager laughed (not unkindly) and informed me that a PO Box number could not be assigned to me until I picked up the keys

. . .  in Madison.

Hmmm.

Fortunately, my daughter, who lives in Madison and embodies one of the biggest reasons for moving to Madison, was able to meet with the PO manager and do the magic required to obtain the keys to Box 7172. (It is good to have a magical daughter.)  However, obtaining the keys coincided with the date that allowed me to forward mail from WA to WI, thus rendering the POBox extraneous.

I am relieved that you can send me snail mail now; however, I’m a bit shocked to realize that it might not matter much to anyone else where I am.

It is strange to consider, for the moment, that my whereabouts matters little.  I am not disconnected – just physically untethered – except for a small and unnecessary 5.5″x5″ metal box in Madison, WI,  to which I, as of yet, have no key.

pobox

 

 

About Cherylann

I live a patch-work quilt of a life filled with Family, fiber, flowers, birds, books, psychology, spirituality. Not so much with: cooking (I can do it, I don't like it), gardening (overwaterer, underwaterer: everything eventually dies) :)
This entry was posted in Going Home, spirituality, The Washington Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

